Blind Spots…They Make Us Blind!

Ash Britt Railroad track

You know the problem with blind spots?  They make us blind!  We speak of them lightly if we know we have them or we ignore the harm we cause because we don’t see that we have them.  They are, after all…blind spots.  They are powerful.

The other problem with blind spots is that we lead others along in a way that develops the same blind spots in them.  Truly, it is “the blind leading the blind”.

I don’t want to have them and I don’t want to lead those in my sphere of influence on the same sheep-dumb blind path.  Whole generations of families do this. They simply cannot see in order to do it any differently.

So…if I am blind, how do I see?  After all…blind spots mean that I really cannot see or can’t see correctly. Either way, I am blind.  What if  you and I are absolutely certain we are walking on God’s trail and yet (unknown to us) we are incredibly off track in a specific area of our lives?

How many seasons have I been blind and influenced those in my sphere in a way that has blinded them so that in turn they are (or will) unknowingly do the same damage to the lives of others?

This is what I so badly want you to hear:  satan has no real power over believers so his most destructive/effective weapon is to feed us a lie. In order to believe a lie we have to have a blind spot, right?

Shiver.

The dictionary defines blindness as “uncomprehending”.  How do we comprehend what to this point has been incomprehensible to us?

I have spent some (eventually painful) times believing I was correct and being oh so very wrong. Whether we know it yet or not, we all have!  But how can we “unblind” our blind spots before the damage is done and the example is followed?  After all…they are blind spots!

Thank you Lord that our weapons are spiritual and not earthly.  Thank you for the weapon of prayer. Thank you, Lord that is it never too late.    Prayer is not complex and as believers we know that.

We really can…we really must pray something like this: “Please God, open my eyes where I am so very blind…where I simply do not see.”

Or simply…”Show me, Lord!”

With the Psalmist we can say: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; 24  And see if there be any hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way. Psalm 139:23-24 (NASB)

This entry was posted in Blind Spots, Example, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

