Enjoy Him Forever & Change the Generations!

jaynelle's daugher

1 Corinthians 10:31 (ESV)
31  So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

 

I was reading in the last few days about ‘the glory of God’. I am embarrassed to tell you that when I was younger it seemed kind of egotistical for God to talk about glorifying Himself.  Of course that was because I had no comprehension of who God really is or my (humble-sinful) standing beside Him.

In later years I came to realize that it wasn’t about His ego. John Piper says: “The glory of God is the holiness of God put on display.”

The Westminster short Catechism says:

Q: What is the chief end of man?

A: The chief end of man is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

 Seems like no matter what God commands us, it ultimately brings Him glory and at the same time, brings us joy!!

My husband received a note from a young man whose wedding he officiated. This is a young man whose parents divorced when he was twelve and who has been through some tough emotional times because of his shattered family.  He doesn’t talk that much so we found ourselves wondering if he wanted to be with us or he was just waiting to flee!

But then, after the wedding, Don received a note that said, “You always were and still are a role model for me and I hope I can live my life with the same amount of love and caring towards others as you do.” He added a PS that said, “I’m not so good with the words, as you can probably tell but you have meant a lot to me through this whole thing.”

Wow! I know Don felt he had done so little.  He just tried to be a friend when needed and point the family to God through a few words here and there.

As I read that note, I thought… What so many are truly crying out for is to be with stable people who know who they are because they know who they are in relationship to God.

 They just…need…to know…what that looks like! They need exposure to it.  They need relationships (time) with people who live that kind of life.

There was a time when most kids received that at home. Now home life is often so broken because of bad choices and blind eyes… or it is scattered because of busyness.  So much of the time no one feels stable…no place feels secure…and there is no real-life picture of the glory of God.

No wonder the chief end of man is to glorify God! When we glorify Him through our day to day life…we change the generations! What a way to “enjoy Him forever”!

This entry was posted in Listening to God, Obeying God, Obeying His Direction, Parents, Presence of God, Purpose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

