But You Are Not Willing…to Receive Strength & Quiet Confidence…

IMG_7432-002

 Isaiah 30:15 (HCSB) 15  For the Lord GOD, the Holy One of Israel, has said: “You will be delivered by returning and resting; your strength will lie in quiet confidence. But you are not willing.”

But you are not willing…but you are not willing…but….

Clearly, God longs to bless us with strength…but we have a choice to make. Apparently He isn’t going to bless us with courage and strength if we aren’t willing to “return and rest”.

The quiet confidence we are looking for hangs on a simple choice.  So then, if we are upset…feeling like all is lost…things are hopeless…certainly we should practice recognizing those feelings as our queue to choose differently.

If we aren’t confident in Him/what He is doing/when He will do it…this is our queue to return and rest. It is our responsibility to return (over and over again) to reminders of what He has told us in His Word…to dwell on how faithful He has been.

I am so very thankful that He has calm and rest (and therefore strength) ready and waiting for us every moment of every day…if we choose to lean into Him…to return and rest .

Maybe you are wondering exactly what that looks like. For me it means starting my day with a devotion of some kind and prayer.  Usually my prayers start before my feet hit the floor because I know I cannot take on the day on my own. I do a tiny part of my morning routine (avoiding email and text) and then sit down to pray and read or listen to something that includes teaching on His word.   It might be short and simple or it could be in depth.

Then…throughout the day I stop again and again to pray and reflect on what God says.  As I write this, I am reminded that I sometimes cast my cares but don’t bother to reflect as much as I should.  So I continue to struggle.  Now isn’t that unproductive! He is at work but I don’t really know it, so strength and quiet confidence are not mine…I was unwilling.

Maybe you feel you are too busy for prayer and study/reflection. The truth is you do have time to spend these moments with God.  Martin Luther is famous for commenting, “I have so much to do today that I’m going to need to spend three hours in prayer in order to be able to get it all done.”

You have a lot you must accomplish.  You want it to be done right…to last…to be done in a timely manner and with the least confusion and stress possible.  You want to feel good about what you have accomplished each day and you don’t want to miss the joy of the journey as you navigate life’s challenges.

Are you willing?

James 5:16b says, “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man (or woman) accomplishes much.”  

 Isaiah 30:15  For the Lord GOD, the Holy One of Israel, has said: “You will be delivered by returning and resting; your strength will lie in quiet confidence. But you are not willing.”

 May we be willing!

 

This entry was posted in Confidence, Prayer, Strength, Trusting God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But You Are Not Willing…to Receive Strength & Quiet Confidence…

  1. Ken says:

    Thank you got theses words: “Return and Rest”

    That’s been true recently for me to grasp!

    The last words my Dad said before he passed away the following day to me was to to can complete the verse I begin today to him over the phone.
    Isaiah 40:31 (NASB) “Yet those who wait for the Lord Will gain new strength:” my Dad finished the verse with “They will mount up with wings like eagles, They will run and not get tired, They will walk and not become weary.”

    Wait for the Lord!!! Be still!!! Envision mounting up with wings and soaring!!! The last words from a man soon to arrive in Jesus’s loving arms!!!

Leave a Reply

