Scare You?…Knowing THE MASTER…..

Scare You? Know The Master!

 

This beautiful dog scares me.  Mind you, he is behind a fence.  Short of jumping the fence, he can’t get near me to harm me.  I think you would agree that he is a beautifully built dog with markings to match…beauty and strength.

He never barks. I am pretty sure he is one of those dogs that doesn’t bark.  I wonder why God created a dog that wouldn’t bark.  Kind of makes me feel sorry for him.  How does he express himself when he needs to protect his territory? It also scares me a little more.  He is so silent.  Does he just suddenly lunge with all of his might when he feels threatened?  Does he feel threatened when I walk by?  OyVey!

He never lunges at me.  He doesn’t’ even lunge toward the fence.  He just stands there looking around with no particular interest in any one thing.  The problem is that there is that occasional long….slow…piercing look directly into my face.  Is he feeling threatened?

I don’t run or hide, I don’t avoid walking by his home.  I tell myself that “the look” is probably a look that says, “I really wish we could be friends.”  I never do go try to pet him and my heart always beats a little faster as we walk past his fence…my muscles are always a little tighter.  I tell myself not to show fear.

He may not intend to, but Mr. Silent scares me through intimidation.  I want to enjoy his beauty and presence.  I even want to reach across and bring us both pleasure by patting his strong muscular body. I think it is part common sense and part intimidation as well as a big old dose of fear that cause me to feel I should walk smoooothly by…God forbid that I should startle him or make him feel that his property is threatened in any way!

What a shame.  There is no way that I can know what his intentions are.  So both he and I miss a possibly sweet friendship.  He might get to where he loves to see me coming and I feel sure he would be one of the highlights of my walk.  Short of me getting to know his master, nothing is going to change.

Ever wonder if getting to know your Master would diminish your fears, increase your joy and put a confident spring in your step?!

Psalm 25:8-15 (HCSB) 8  The LORD is good and upright; therefore He shows sinners the way. 9  He leads the humble in what is right and teaches them His way. 10  All the LORD’s ways ⌊show⌋ faithful love and truth to those who keep His covenant and decrees. 11  Because of Your name, Yahweh, forgive my sin, for it is great. 12  Who is the man who fears the LORD? He will show him the way he should choose. 13  He will live a good life, and his descendants will inherit the land. 14  The secret counsel of the LORD is for those who fear Him, and He reveals His covenant to them. 15  My eyes are always on the LORD, for He will pull my feet out of the net.

 

This entry was posted in Freedom, Joy, Knowing God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scare You?…Knowing THE MASTER…..

  1. donna says:

    Love the visual description and the thought provoking word!

Leave a Reply

