I’m doing a great work…I can’t come down!

IMG_5516Nehemiah 6:2-4 (HCSB) 2  Sanballat and Geshem sent me a message: “Come, let’s meet together in the villages of the Ono Valley.” But they were planning to harm me. 3  So I sent messengers to them, saying, “I am doing a great work and cannot come down. Why should the work cease while I leave it and go down to you?” 4  Four times they sent me the same proposal, and I gave them the same reply.

I’m doing a great work; I can’t come down.

I hope you can hear with your heart the importance…the blessing these words are to you…to me.

I have someone special in my life who has been given an opportunity that fits right in with her God-given gifts and desires. After years of preparing and seeking (sometimes agonizing over) where God wants to use her gifts, she has been given an obviously God-orchestrated opportunity. At the same time, she has been given the blessing of something else pretty special…a very nice young man who desires her company.

The enemy could tempt her to become distracted…to devote all of her time to this young man and lose this beautiful opportunity for the Kingdom. God has given her two very special blessings and yet there could be the temptation to be more devoted to the young man than to her calling.

Like this young woman, there are things God has called you and I to do. Still…there are other things that call to us. Her answer…and ours must be, “I am doing a great work; I can’t come down.” Truly there are distractions…even God-given blessings that will bring us down in some fashion if we do not choose to continue on the custom-made path God has provided.

It doesn’t mean we can’t have both. It simply means that we need to seek the balance only God can give. Then…we can grab on to the opportunities which lead us down His path to joy, purpose and God-given lifetime relationships.

Our choices can mean  missed opportunities, missed joy, and missed relationships which God has in the making.

Or…

The right opportunities will be taken…purpose and relationships will be enjoyed because we are bold enough to say, “I am doing a great work, I cannot come down”.

This entry was posted in Balance, Choose, Choose to trust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

