The Time For Rescue Has Not Yet Come…Walk By Faith!

baby deeer hiding

John 7:28-31 (NIV) 28  Then Jesus, still teaching in the temple courts, cried out, “Yes, you know me, and you know where I am from. I am not here on my own, but he who sent me is true. You do not know him, 29  but I know him because I am from him and he sent me.” 30  At this they tried to seize him, but no one laid a hand on him, because his time had not yet come. 31  Still, many in the crowd put their faith in him. They said, “When the Christ comes, will he do more miraculous signs than this man?”

==

They were desperate to seize Him…should have been able to seize Him but His time had not yet come to be captured. His capture would, of course, mean the rescue and freedom of mankind.

Sometimes we are so desperate for something to happen…to seize something….to be rescued! It might be a job we urgently need or a relationship we so badly want to restore. It might be respect we lost that we have frantically tried to regain. It might be that we are watching our family members crumble. Maybe something is badly needed in order to rescue them from falling further into the pit of despair or feelings of worthlessness.

Again and again (obvious) rescue does not come. We despair even more. We grieve and feel defeated…desperate for ourselves or those we love. But…their time (or ours) has not yet come.

 What would it be like if we were able to build the kind of faith and trust that says, “Yes…rescue does seem to be coming too late. More damage is being done! You would have to be blind not to see that this lack of answered prayer (quicker solutions) is driving my loved ones further into the wrong direction…further into despair.

 But God…I trust you. I choose to believe that the time for rescue has not yet come. I choose to stand on your faithfulness. I choose to believe that your promises are sure and true.

Despite my questions and my terrifying fears, I choose to believe that you are on our side…ever working on our behalf toward our good and Your glory.

I don’t want to be simplistic. This kind of faith takes time and determination to develop. We have choices to make. We will likely need to go back to Jesus again and again. But peace is available. No matter how many times a day we sink back into fear or despair…we can regain our footing!

Look at the life of Jesus. How often He prayed! How often He quoted Scripture to fight off the enemy. He makes it clear we are to follow His example. God is for us…who can be against us? No fear or despair can defeat us…if we are consistently leaning into Him!!

2 Corinthians 4:8-9 (HCSB) 8  We are pressured in every way but not crushed; we are perplexed but not in despair; 9  we are persecuted but not abandoned; we are struck down but not destroyed.

This entry was posted in Faith, Faith waiting to be rescued and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

