The Lord Will Fight For You While You Keep Silent….

statue with bird

Exodus 14:13-14 (NASB) 13  But Moses said to the people, “Do not fear! Stand by and see the salvation of the LORD which He will accomplish for you today; for the Egyptians whom you have seen today, you will never see them again forever. 14  “The LORD will fight for you while you keep silent.”

An alien concept in our culture, this verse is so packed full of things that we ignore. Yes…there are times we absolutely must speak up. But let’s be honest.  Most of the time we have our own idea about how something should be handled and very often our fear drives us to “fix this”. We speak up before we fully listen…to God or even to the person we feel is disrespecting or undermining us (or themselves).

Along the way I have had some strong lessons about this and yet…yet…how quickly I can default to trying to fix something when I should be silent.

What we are thinking is logical. It is tried and true…so we speak up…again.  Think of someone in your life who just…doesn’t…listen.  Are you seriously going to repeat yourself again this morning and then possibly again this evening?

I know the feeling. My Dad knew the feeling.  He would tell me something and then repeat it from every angle he could think of.  I could count on this happening so much that I would say to myself, “Watch…he isn’t finished.  Yep…there he goes again!”  I loved my Dad and honestly had very little conflict with him.  But his fear and the desperation to be certain that I “got it” made for really long lectures. I can only imagine what must be going on in the head of someone who is inwardly livid at the person in their life who just won’t stop coming at them…again.

I eventually married a man who seldom listened to anything that inconvenienced him. In time I learned not to waste my breath.  I also learned that in order not to become embittered, silence must be accompanied by faith and prayer…especially prayer for wisdom about when to actually speak up.

Because I was protected from bitterness, I didn’t pass on an angry or vengeful spirit to my children. God was there for me through the hardest of years and His faithfulness registered for them.  They recognized the hand of God throughout the journey.

Thankfully, I knew what forgiveness and love looked like because my mom lived it out in our home. It was no doubt a little simpler for me to make that choice than for others who were not modeled mercy and grace.  Whether you have or have not seen grace lived out…pray for love, grace and wisdom. Ask Him to make His Word come alive for you.

Think about this…

Silence does not mean that you are losing.

Remember….

The LORD will fight for you while you keep silent

It may not be the kind of deliverance you had in mind, but it will be deliverance that will strengthen you in ways you never thought possible and bring blessings far greater than you dreamed.  Best of all, those in your sphere…those you love… will forever understand what it means to…

Stand by and see the deliverance of the Lord.

This entry was posted in Fear, Keep silent, Prayer, The Lord will fight for you, wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

