Music…a Gift From God That is Meant to Rescue and Heal!

bird singing

For a few days now, I have been reading (meditating on) Psalm 18. Each day a different portion means something special to me and…not necessarily in order. Yesterday it was verses 16 through 24. Today it is an earlier passage in the chapter. 

I can relate to this…I hope you can too: Psalm 18:3 (MSG) 3  I sing to GOD, the Praise-Lofty, and find myself safe and saved.

Music! Such a gift…life-giving praise… so important to God and to you and me!

Do you ever feel like this? Psalm 18:4-6a (MSG) 4  The hangman’s noose was tight at my throat; devil waters rushed over me. 5  Hell’s ropes cinched me tight; death traps barred every exit. 6a  A hostile world!

But then:

Psalm 18:6b (MSG) 6bI call to GOD, I cry to God to help me. From his palace he hears my call; my cry brings me right into his presence— a private audience!

This phrase makes me smile… “a private audience!” Do you and I take it for granted or do we revel in the amazing fact that we can have a private audience with Almighty God?

When my granddaughters were very little we had a special room for them in my home that was designated for learning and playing. It was a desert time in the life of our family and it was my habit to go to the girls’ room in the quiet early morning hours to read, pray and sing from my old tattered hymnal as well as some of the newer praise songs. Amazingly, God would sometimes give me a new song…a sweet gift…simple praise.

The music connected me to God…whether it was from the hymnal…praise songs or new words and melody that I didn’t recognize.  In my desperation I looked for Him each and every morning and…He was there. Sometimes He gave me new surprises but always He offered me a fresh start for the day! Though our home and our lives are very different now…and my mornings aren’t quite as early…each day I have the opportunity to praise Him.  He still offers me a fresh start

His mercies truly are new every morning. Lamentations 3:21-23 (NIV) Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

As I read the words in Psalm 18 and having learned from my own experience during those years and beyond, I can attest to how important music is to our lives.  It can actually remind us that we are safe and saved… (Ps 18:3).

Music rescues us or ruins us…it is more important than we can imagine. Praise is the music that rescues! I imagine you have some sense of how destructive or healing it can be. I think we would have to be hibernating not to recognize the vast  influence on our minds, hearts and emotions.

Music is a gift from God that is meant to rescue and heal!  The enemy wants to cover this insight up…to steal that powerful gift from us…

But God…wants to give us His song!!

This entry was posted in Healing, Music, Praise and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

