And Look…New Things Have Come!

cow

2 Corinthians 5:17 (HCSB) 17  Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, ⌊he is⌋ a new creation; old things have passed away, and look, new things have come.

Priscilla Shirer says this in her Armor of God study:

“ Old things have passed away all things have become new! When you remind yourself; old has passed away…you are a brand new person in Christ Jesus and when you stamp that identity…when you fit that (helmet of salvation) over your mind… when you rehearse…when you meditate on who you are as a daughter of Christ adopted into the family of God…it literally acts like a shield against the enemy.

God’s Word…his thoughts are a helmet that does not allow the enemy to penetrate and to twist your thinking so that you give in to feelings of worthlessness and insecurity that will keep you from the destiny that God has called you to!!”

Her words started me thinking…and praying:

Oh Lord…these verses make me smile…the different translations…like the HCSB that says, “And look!” As I was smiling I was in wonder again that I love your word. I remember Mother saying, “Oh how I love your law!  Now here I am, understanding more fully what she meant.

The word “fodder” floated into my head.

Webster defined fodder this way:

1 :  something fed to domestic animals; especially :  coarse food for cattle, horses, or sheep

2 :  inferior or readily available material used to supply a heavy demand <fodder for tabloids>

In the spring I think how much the cows must love the lush green grasses. The heat in Texas quickly overtakes spring…so ranchers bring in hay. I imagine it as inferior to the lush green but…cattle need sustenance and the green isn’t continuously available!

I love the nourishment…the green grass of God’s Word. I have the opportunity to not only feed on it but to feed on it continuously by seeing my life and the lives of those around me through the filter of God’s words to me.

His words nourish, heal and change me.

Still…how often I feed on the lies…the fodder of the enemy…the faulty filter…the brown stuff. I worry and hurt when I shouldn’t. I fear…I fret.

God says, I am with you always…do not be afraid…I’ve got this. In fact, let me tuck you under my wings…I have you and yours in the palm of my hand. Come to me and I will give you rest!

What is wrong with us that we are so fooled, so undisciplined, so chronically drawn to things that are inferior…to the fodder…?

Sin…

The author and finisher of our faith is asking us to believe/understand/acknowledge that we are in a spiritual war. Once we see it, we must choose to rely on the weapons provided by the One who equips us. Without true understanding, we are going to be chronically drawn to the fodder. We can never learn to “love His law”. We will seldom find ourselves smiling in pleasure at the thought of how much His words, His love and comfort…His purposes mean to us.

We may miss out…on the whole thing.

Don’t miss out. If you aren’t in the grave…you haven’t missed out on the whole thing. We have all missed out on some portion…but we can grab for the glorious green and stop feeding on the brown stuff.

One day you will find yourself smiling, from somewhere deep within you, at the wonder of…

Loving His law….

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in New things have come, Old things are gone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

