Ministry is Pointing People to Jesus..Nothing More…Nothing Less!

Ash Donuts

Galatians 5:13-14 (ESV) 13  For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. 14  For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

Priscilla Shirer: “Ministry is when you point out Jesus…nothing more…nothing less.”

I love seeing my family minister to others. Nothing brings me more joy. Why? Because I know the purpose this brings into their lives….the like-no-other spring it puts in their step.

Also…because I know that when I am gone…when I am in heaven…they will be making a difference. And this is fun! There will be a person or two who enters heaven between the time I do and the time my loved-ones do who will come to me and say… “Do you know the difference your kids and grands made in my life?”

Or…“The reason I am here is because your family showed me what it looks like to be loved and that drew me to Jesus. Suddenly, His life…His message made sense to me because your family demonstrated that love to me in the caring ways I had never experienced before.”

It isn’t a big production…this business of pointing people to Jesus. It is simply seeing where God wants to work and joining Him. That might mean starting a young adult fellowship on Thursday night because you have seen the loneliness of your own kids during that transitional season of life. It might be fixing a cupcake for a new friend you know is hurting and lonely and it is her birthday week. It might mean having lunch with someone from your past who didn’t stay in your life but who you suspect might now be lonely and seems to be hoping to enter back in. It might mean saving out of your tight budget to buy your year-old-charge an outfit so you can take him to church on Sunday…something he has not yet experienced.

That’s ministry. That is the love and the dedication I have seen in the lives of my family in just this last week. All seemingly small things…all take determination and effort…all extremely important to the receiver and all leave the giver feeling like clicking his/her heals, no matter how exhausting the process. Why? Because, as the giver, you know these ideas come from the heart of God. Sometimes it was a bigger effort than you really felt like giving but because of our Lord…His encouragement…His determination…you pressed forward.

And Ohhhh how glad you are that you did! Next week, it will be the same. The idea will come and probably right in the middle of “too much to do and too little money”. But next week, you will remember what this week was like and…

You won’t want to miss out on making a difference…touching a life. You won’t want to miss out on… the joy!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Heaven, Jesus, Joy, Ministry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

