He Gave His Life…Will He Not Also Graciously Give Us the Rest?

puppy journal

Romans 8:32 (NIV) 32  He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all–how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?

Blessed…I am blessed. As I sometimes do, I woke up a bit exhausted and therefore struggling a bit to take the time to count my blessings and write them down.

Even though the sweet puppy on the front of my blessings journal never fails to make me smile, I wasn’t feeling much like drawing up a whole lot of “thank you’s” to jot down. But this one thing I knew and did write! “You Lord…You sustain me.” That was it…no more words.

I felt compelled to pick up One Thousand Gifts and continue reading where I had left off just a few days ago and there it was: 32  He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all–how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things? Romans 8:32 (NIV)

Isn’t God amazing? I could have picked up any other book or been on any other page and I would have missed reading those words. But this morning, when it seemed like a big effort to make a full list of things for which I am thankful…there was that one thing…Christ…who encompasses all other things.

This verse  reminded me that the feeling of dread that sometimes sets in is completely unfounded. After all, if He gave up His own Son for us all…then it makes absolutely no sense for you and me to feel (if even subconsciously) that He is going to leave us hanging.

The fact that He gave His life for us means He loves us most…more than life itself. There is no way for you (or me) to pay our own heavy debt of weakness and sin. No way for us to pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off and make it all truly good again. We can’t…not really…not to the depths of what we need and even…what we want.

He created us, He knows better than we what makes us tick. He knows how to bring us out of the mire and move us into a place of peace and productivity…because He knows who we are in the deepest recesses of our hearts, minds and desires.

He knows what it takes…what to use to bring out in us all that He intended for us to be from the beginning. He knew what it would take to redeem us and now…what it takes to restore us and make us whole!

So…because He gave His life…the Ultimate Gift for us…we can trust His heart, His plan, and His process. When you struggle for a list of thank you’s, you have hope. You can pray and (instead of leaning into dread and fear) say with the Psalmist…

“In the morning [this morning] I will [choose to] pray…and eagerly watch!” Psalm 5:3

 

This entry was posted in Choose to trust, Christ Sacrificie, Praise, Prayer, Sustain, Thanks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He Gave His Life…Will He Not Also Graciously Give Us the Rest?

  1. Tammy Thomison says:

    Love this!

Leave a Reply

