Just Be Held…

bABY ON DADS SHOULDERS 2

Joshua 1:9 – Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

Some years ago, it occurred to me that fretting was like a slap in the face of God. He is all powerful God. He laid down His life for me out of love and concern. He has said He will always protect, provide and get me through everything that comes my way in this broken world.

I say I believe Him. I say I trust and revere Him…and then I talk (fret) about how worried (scared) I am about something presently happening in my life. I worry about a possibility that could come about in the future.

If someone you love has repeatedly and faithfully told you how much they trust you but their words and actions clearly reveal distrust and lack of respect…that hurts. It makes you feel like you have been slammed against a wall…or slapped in the face.

Ann Voskamp speaks about how, throughout our lives, God continually builds strong bridges for us to cross over the hard places. She reminds us how we can clearly see his faithfulness as we look into the rearview mirror of our lives.

Later, she talks about the dearness of holding her sleeping baby in her arms, slowly tracing the lines of her soft face while at the same time dreading the thought of her growing up and leaving home. She speaks of fearing the empty nest and the aging process along with other worries about the past.

Then, she speaks of our fretting this way:

“Again I refuse to walk the bridge into tomorrow’s unknowns, and I shame the Bridge Builder with my worries, my demand to just let me stay here, or go back, but no, not to go on, and again He comes to carry me flailing and anxious.

Am I always the atheist in Arms, me the believer who doesn’t believe?”

I see it clearly as she writes it. Rehearsing our fear and dread…living in it…is not only a slap in the face of God. It shames Him and…it is atheism!

He tells us He holds us in His arms…we say we believe Him… and then…we speak (and live out) volumes about our unbelief. Such unnecessary pain we take on. How this must grieve Him.

Casting Crowns sings this amazingly meaningful song – well worth taking a couple of minutes of your time and then five more to let it sink in! Better yet…as my granddaughter, Ashley, reminded me…put it on replay in your car!

If we believe Him…truly believe Him…we can choose to stop holding on and just…

BE HELD!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tIZitK6_IMQ

Remember: “Your world is not falling apart. It’s falling into place!”

Isaiah 40:11 (AMP) 11  He will feed His flock like a shepherd: He will gather the lambs in His arm, He will carry them in His bosom and will gently lead those that have their young.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Choose to trust, Confidence, Courage, Faithfulness of God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Be Held…

  1. Cindi Salinas says:

    Your post are always upllifting…but this one I will keep in my pocket to remind myself daily. ☺ 💜Cindi

    • mannasplace says:

      Thank you, Cindi, that means so much. I love the words God allows me to write and am delighted that He does and…when I get to hear that they mean something/make a difference…WOW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

