Do You Sometimes Want to Hide?

rabbit edges

Do You Sometimes Want to Hide?

The last few days have been shocking and painful in our country, with the killing of policemen in Dallas and violence in other cities. Now…almost 90 people, two Americans, were brutally murdered in France. Pray for our police force all across the nation, pray for the families who have lost loved ones in America and in Nice, France. Pray for the coming election, though whoever is elected is not the total answer, we do need strong and wise leaders. Pray for an awakening that no one but God can bring about.

While all of this uncertainty is being brought into your living room via media, maybe your own life has been turned upside down on some level. Maybe you have become fearful or have been deeply hurt. Something changed that you were counting on staying the same. Something hasn’t changed that you were counting on changing.

So life inside your world, as well as the outside world, is proving to be painfully unpredictable. The one thing we don’t really like is unexpected change. Yet…the one thing we can be sure of is that all throughout our lives, things are going to change!

Relationships, health, career, children, are constantly changing. Small or large fluctuations can rattle our emotions and rock our world. So how do we gain our footing when everything around us holds so much uncertainty? What can we hang onto, in order to stabilize what we are feeling?

The answer is clear. I will never stop saying it, because it is true. If you hope for stability…for solid footing, be completely honest as you answer two questions:

  • Do I start my day in the presence of God through prayer and by reading something pertaining to Him/His Word?
  • Do I take the time to think it through (meditate on it) and then practice what I have learned throughout the day?

I promise you, as you develop the habit of spending time with Him, God will open your eyes to what you are truly feeling and guide you through whatever is rocking your world!

This morning, as things rock and reel around me, I am so thankful that I was reminded that,  Jesus Christ is the same, yesterday…today and forever. (Hebrews 13:8)

When I seek His answers, they are always consistent. He is not going to see life (or me) one way today and a very different way tomorrow, depending on His frame of mind. He is not going to treat me differently according to His mood. He is not going to deceive me for His own self-interest.

He stretches me, to be sure. But He never stretches me beyond what is best for me or from anything but a pure and loving heart.

How thankful I am for a God who created us and knows exactly what we need to nurture us, to heal us and to make today a day of assurance and purpose.

I am thankful to know for certain that, if I choose, every single day can be a day I will find stronger footing

In Him!

This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it! (Psalm 118:24)

This entry was posted in Character of God, Confidence, Fear, Freedom, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

