TIRED TO THE BONE?

christmas-tree

TIRED TO THE BONE?

God showed Ezekiel this field of dry bones. Ick! Nothing left…just dead dry bones.

Ezekiel 37:1-3 (HCSB) 1  The hand of the LORD was on me, and He brought me out by His Spirit and set me down in the middle of the valley; it was full of bones. 2  He led me all around them. There were a great many of them on the surface of the valley, and they were very dry.

 That last phrase tickles me “…and they were very dry.” No kidding. Bones out in a field in the middle of the desert would be very dry, wouldn’t they?

 I feel like I am those desert-dry bones some days, don’t you? Do you ever hear yourself saying, “I have nothing left.” Or… “I just can’t do this anymore. I am completely serious. I…can’t…do this anymore!”

 God asked Ezekiel, (and He asks us), 3 “Son of man, can these bones live?” Ezekiel replied, “Lord GOD, ⌊only⌋ You know.”

 Isn’t that how you feel on those bone-tired days? “Lord…only you know how in the world I can keep on!”

Ezekiel 37:4-6 (HCSB) 4  He said to me, “Prophesy concerning these bones and say to them: Dry bones, hear the word of the LORD! 5  This is what the Lord GOD says to these bones: I will cause breath to enter you, and you will live. 6  I will put tendons on you, make flesh grow on you, and cover you with skin. I will put breath in you so that you come to life. Then you will know that I am Yahweh.”

 What a perfect picture of how we feel and then…God’s renewal. But…as always…we have choices to make.

Maybe you are thinking, “What does this have to do with me? After all, God was speaking to Ezekiel about a specific situation.” Don’t do that to yourself. Don’t choose to think that way! These kinds of biblical writings speak to the character and love of God. They are representative of who He is!

Remember…He is ever working to complete what He has begun in you. He is ever willing to encourage, refresh and bring life into every part of your being.

But you…you have a responsibility to listen and draw on His strength and His word through prayer and obedience to what He is asking of you. This is a daily and moment-by-moment process.

If you are willing…those dry bones are gonna’ dance!

This entry was posted in Refreshed, Tired, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TIRED TO THE BONE?

  1. clvoigtaolcom says:

    I just want to let you know how much I appreciate you sending these little “nuggets” to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

