Establish Your Watchpost and Thrive…

watchpost-study-photo-cropped-more

Habakkuk 2:1 (ESV) 1  I will take my stand at my watchpost and station myself on the tower, and look out to see what he will say to me, and what I will answer concerning my complaint.

There are a few books that, as I read them, I think… “Every person on the planet should read this…” or…“Every woman on the planet should read this.”

FRESH OUT OF AMAZING by Stacey Thacker is an every-woman-on-the-planet book. I am probably not the typical age and stage who would necessarily pick up this book to read. It often refers to the mom-with-kids-at-home stage. But I will tell you that does not matter with this book.

It is a simple read, stuffed full of wisdom and God words and principals that make so much sense to your life, your world…no matter what age or stage. I love that she reads deep writers, like A. W. Tozer and gleans wisdom to pass on to her readers. The book is a simple read, yes. It is also profound.

She talks about finding our place to be in the Word, just as Habakkuk found his watchpost…his place of surrender to be alone with God and hear from Him. The author’s watchpost is a big red chair, where she sips her coffee and seeks God’s insight for her each morning. Hopefully, you have your cozy little place.

She writes about how, when trying to get through to her little one, she stops and takes her precious little face in her hands and asks her to repeat what she is saying to be sure she understands. She compares that to our God and how…He desires to do that for us.

“Of course, Tozer has something good to say about this:

‘If you would follow on to know the Lord, come at once to the open bible expecting it to speak to you. Do not come with the notion that it is a thing which you may push around at your convenience. It is more than a thing, it is a voice, a word, a very Word of the living God.’

Oh girls, what our fresh-out-of-amazing hearts need more than anything else is to hear the voice of God. Let’s not push his Word aside one minute longer. Let’s go to the watchpost and listen expectantly. Let’s marvel at what he says. We will not climb down out of our watchpost the same girls we were when we entered. We will be changed. Glory, what an invitation!”

I am so thankful that God established a pattern in me of going to my watchpost each morning. I learned early on that this time with Him cannot be pushed around at my convenience if I want to survive…if I want to thrive…if I want to experience His hope, His growth and His wisdom and purpose.

I fail daily in one way or another, it’s true. Yet…He is there for me in ways I would never have understood…had He not pressed me to the wall and then gently led me to my own daily watchpost.

How I praise Him for the hard times that led me there and kept me there and for the resulting times of closeness with Him. My eyes have been opened, my peace and faith increased and from time to time, He has enabled me to share the victories and the hope with those in my sphere who are pressed up against the wall in one way or another.

Who could ask for anything more…

 

This entry was posted in His Word is Alive, Listening to God, Loving Others, Uncategorized, Watchpost and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

