Confused? Renew Your Awe…We Have Seen the Faithfulness of Our God!

church-edit-edit

Confused? Renew Your Awe…We Have Seen the Faithfulness of Our God!

Francis Chan says the following in his video, “Purpose of Prayer”:

God is a father to the fatherless.

Whether we have had an earthly Father or not…when the Holy Spirit is in us…we can know what it is to cry out to Him as Dad.

It is important to our relationship with God that we spend some time at the beginning of our prayers, thinking of…being amazed and thankful and in awe of who God really is. We should spend some time renewing our thoughts, our reverence for God. Reverence seems to have been lost.

How do I want to approach God?

Hebrews 5:7 – Even Jesus was heard because of His reverence for God.

Where is my reverence? How do I find it in a day when reverence is lost…when we throw words into the air about what we want and need without even gathering our thoughts about who we are talking to…without being overwhelmed with thankfulness that He would even listen…or care?

Why do we pray, since God already knows everything and has already decided. Psalm 139:16 says our days were already ordained before even one of them was yet to be, so there was something that was already set before I was even born.

So why do we pray? Is my prayer going to change that?

We can go in circles trying to figure out the mind of God. All I know is there have been times when after I have prayed specifically it has happened in such a supernatural way that there is no way it could have been coincidence.

Do we…will we understand why sometimes He doesn’t answer the way we pray? We don’t. We never will. Ask people older and more mature in their faith…they will tell you…they don’t have that answer.

A a kid, my Mom died, my stepmom passed in a car accident three years early and now my dad had cancer. I begged God not to take my dad from me. Yet…my dad passed away during my 7th grade year. I still don’t understand it completely, but I do know that there have been so many times when I have prayed so specifically and He answered so supernaturally, that I know it happens. Sometimes we can try so hard to understand things that we can’t comprehend rather than just being obedient in faith and saying, ‘God asks me to pray about these things and he says to knock on that door. I will do what he asks.’

So we do that and yes…there will be times when we don’t understand and when we don’t get what we ask for. There will be things in your life left unanswered and you won’t know why…until the end.

-Chan-

I suppose that is called faith. But in reality, because of the prayers we do see supernaturally answered, because God blesses in ways He says that He will…praying when we don’t understand isn’t because of faith alone.

We have seen His faithfulness and so…despite what we don’t understand…we continue to pray.

Praise Him whenever you go to Him. Renew your awe of who God truly is. Refresh your reverence…

We have seen the faithfulness of our God!

Habakkuk 3:17-19 (ESV) 17  Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls, 18  yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation. 19  GOD, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places. To the choirmaster: with stringed instruments.

Matthew 7:7-11 (ESV) 7  “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8  For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. 9  Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

Hebrews 5:7-10 (ESV) 7  In the days of his flesh, Jesus offered up prayers and supplications, with loud cries and tears, to him who was able to save him from death, and he was heard because of his reverence. 8  Although he was a son, he learned obedience through what he suffered. 9  And being made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation to all who obey him, 10  being designated by God a high priest after the order of Melchizedek.

Psalm 139:16-18 (ESV) 16  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. 17  How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! 18  If I would count them, they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Confused, Faithfulness of God and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

