Feeling Like You…Need a Rope?

helicopter2

Feeling Sad or Stuck…Need a Rope?

Friday’s Blog: mannasplace.wordpress.com

Ever have those mornings when you feel really sad…like trying to climb/claw your way out of a dirt hole that is way too tall to climb out of on your own? You know…the sides are crumbling a bit and the sadness is big enough that you need someone to throw you a rope.

I have learned that the rope is most often my quiet time. A few days ago, I wasn’t really sure why I was feeling so sad and not sure I could figure it out. The thing is…I wasn’t so sure I wanted to try to figure it out. Still…I did what I always do…started the day with coffee and my quiet time. This morning I read my quarterly. It is something I have shunned quite a bit through the years. My memories as a kid were that the material was dry and whoever wrote it asked redundant questions.

These days, however, since my husband teaches Bible study (though he doesn’t particularly use much of the quarterly) I like to prepare for Sundays and I have actually found the meaningful. There are other things I do during my quiet time…but this morning…the quarterly.

As I read the first verses in Psalm along with the written material, I started out wondering why I was so sad. I feel like I am walking in His ways…where am I missing the boat?

I was confused. But I remembered the verse that says, “God is not the author of confusion…” (I Cor. 14:33). It wasn’t part of the quarterly lesson but that is our God! We take time to seek Him…He will show us the way.

As I read and prayed, He began to clarify for me why I was sad. Some things I can do something about. Some things I need to pray and keep leaving to Him. He will be guiding me through the maze and so…why so sad?

If He is not the author of confusion, and He works all thing together for our good and His glory, then if I am walking closely with Him…seeking, confessing and obeying…why do I slip into sadness?

2 Corinthians 4:7-10 (ESV) 7  But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. 8  We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; 9  persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; 10  always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies.

As we seek Him through His word and prayer…the lies are replaced with His thoughts, His perspective. The peace returns. Depending on the situation, the doubts (lies) may creep back in within the hour or…the next day or a week from now. But…our God is faithful. He is our Perfect Parent. He is patient with us…loving. He delights that we come to Him…again and again. He wants to clarify our thoughts…assure us over and over where we need assurance.

He never tires of loving us in every way that He knows will nourish us. He does know the way. He is the Truth and the Life.

John 14:6 (ESV) 6  Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Rest assured…He can bring you back to peace and joy. He is your rope! Your part is to sit with Him and seek His ways…His perspective. Then…hang on tight!

His Truth is the only Truth and Truth…rescues and heals.

Matthew 11:28-30 (ESV) 28  Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

This entry was posted in Battle, Blessing, Blind Spots, Faith waiting to be rescued, Faithfulness of God, Sadness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

